Amuru District is a district in Northern Uganda. Like most Ugandan districts, it is named after its 'chief town', Amuru, where the district headquarters are located.

Amuru District is bordered by Adjumani District to the north, South Sudan and Lamwo District to the northeast, Gulu District to the east, Nwoya District to the south, Nebbi District to the southwest and Arua District to the west.

The administrative headquarters of the district at Amuru, are located approximately 60 kilometers by road, northwest of Gulu, the largest city in the sub-region.

Amuru District was established by the Ugandan Parliament in 2006.Prior to that, the district was part of Gulu District.

Amuru District, together with Agago DistrictGulu DistrictKitgum DistrictLamwo DistrictNwoya District and Pader District, is part of the larger Acholi sub-region, home to an estimated 1.5 million Acholi, according to the 2002 national census.